Too many thoughts, too little time.

Thanks For Stopping By!

I will start this blog off with an about me and a why I’m writing.

I’m Punkie. Not my real name, my real name is far too easy to search by the people I am trying to hide from. No, I’m not in any danger, just don’t feel like being told what a horrible person I am. Why Punkie you ask? Because it’s what my boyfriend accidentally started calling me when his mouth moved faster than his brain and he merged Pumpkin and Honey; I liked it, so it stuck. Speaking of Boyfriend, he is Brad, or Aussie, or Mr. Wonderful. We’ve been together for about 2 yrs now. I also have 2 little boys, Monster 1 (he’s 8) and Monster 2 (he’s 6). Monsters are the fortunate outcome of an extremely unfortunate relationship with a man (and I use the term loosely) we will call DA…Dumbass. I honestly wish I was being snarky here, but, I’m not. I’m sure you’ll understand eventually. And a year old bad luck cat, who I have as kind of a “eff you” to superstition, and it seems to have worked (knock on wood).

I go to school full time and then some. I raise the boys. I homeschool the kids. I clean the house. Brad works out of town 5 days a week, but I no longer consider myself a single mom. That topic is a blog post for the future though.

I started this because many times I feel I need to keep my mouth shut on many things, especially religion and politics because I don’t want to offend my friends either on the far left or the far right. Everyone assumes I agree with them, and I rarely do. I don’t want to state things on my facebook page because far too often nobody can disagree without resorting to name-calling, insults, or “just because”. So, here, you have to seek me out. You don’t have to read if I offend you. A lot of my opinions tend to be contradictory, which makes it hard to fit in anywhere.

For example: I homeschool. So, I am automatically, 90% of the time a religious, right-wing, gun toting, mad woman, who won’t allow her children to socialize with anyone “different”, and I would let the kids go to public school if only they would put God back in it. 90% of the time, I am also assumed to be a timid woman, in a mid-calf length jumper, turtleneck sweater, Crocs, with waist length hair pulled into a bun. We drive to church in my minivan. My children are then assumed to be robotic drones, taught to say nothing but “Yes Ma’am”, but only for a couple years, until I, as a woman, am no longer in charge. I believe they are assumed to also only have bowl haircuts, large, black framed glasses, and pants 5 inches too short, because “God only cares what is on the inside”.

Yes, this is the sterotype:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZaCiP2_2RM

In actuality…I go to 2 different churches, I have some issues with both, but I enjoy the sermons. One is very traditional, one is very modern. Hymns and rock bands. (See the contradictions coming already? And we’ve barely gotten started!) And, to make it more amusing, I’ve spent the last 5 years pretty much hating God. We are finally on speaking terms again. And my prayers rarely consist anymore of walking around the living room screaming at the ceiling, which is improvement. Anyway, back to that homeschooling thing, I have major issues with public schools, the least of which is whether or not God is in it. My children socialize with anyone and everyone, in fact one church we go to is about 85% people from other countries, so, I think they are getting MORE diverse socialization than they would at the cookie cutter school down the road, where they will hang out with their neighbor. I am not timid in anyway, quiet, yes. Timid, no. I only own calf length clothing because I am short and that is where knee length hits. I am not even sure I own a turtleneck. I think Crocs are a marvelous alternative to birth control and when my pink streaked hair gets past my shoulders, I get killer headaches, so, it is usually fairly short. I also have 7 ear piercings, an a nose ring, but look generally pretty normal. The boys have blue and green mohawks and no glasses, and generally ripped up jeans, because they like them, and tennis shoes with skulls on them. Oh, and we live with my boyfriend. I think mini-vans are evil. He drives a Wrangler, and I drive a cross-over SUV/Truck.

My favorite story about people making assumptions was back when I was dating a guy my friends called Train Wreck. He went on a half hour long rant one day about how weird homeschoolers were, how awkward and socially stunted they were, how it was on par with child abuse, how he could never even be friends with someone who didn’t go to school, etc. When he finally wound down, I sweetly asked “They why do you keep going out with me?” I also was homeschooled. The look on his face was priceless.

Anyway, back on topic. This blog is mostly to say all the things I can’t in around too many people. But it will also have funny stories, and anecdotes, and some travel blog too. Come  on, stay, follow me, you might like me.

Comments on: "Thanks For Stopping By!" (2)

  1. Thanks for inviting me to your new blog! Can’t wait to read more! And I too think minivans are evil. 🙂

  2. leannerichard1 said:

    LOL! Love it already. Looking forward to reading more about the things Punkie can’t say in public!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

