Too many thoughts, too little time.

A lot of my material comes from Facebook, because I have my news feed littered with comments. Half are “protect the sanctity of marriage, ban gay marriage” .the other half are photos of men in rainbow speedos hugging each other next to a photo of Newt Gingrich with a split caption “Together 20 yrs/married to mistress #3”

I am  ambivalent about gay marriage in my personal feelings. From a legal standpoint, I think it should be allowed. But, the thing that most confuses me is the arguments against gay marriage. Sin is sin, if you are a Christian Bible believer, or I was under the impression it should be. I think this is one of those things that has become the hot button issue because they aren’t a problem for most the people against them. Right-wing “Look what a good Christian I am! Gays! Bad! Sin! Illegal I say!” and that is EASY to say, because that person isn’t gay. They are married to a person of the opposite gender, as are all their children. It is a great show, without any real commitment. It somebody who only LIKES vegetables being complimented on their will power when they never eat Doritos. It’s not will power, it’s not you being good. It’s just how you are.

Just seems to me like, if you really want to take a stand and protect the sanctity of marriage, then these long term happily married couples should take a newlywed couple under their wing to help them, to give them someone to talk to. But they don’t. Rather than protesting homosexual marriage, why aren’t they volunteering for premarital counseling help at their church? Rather than stand on street corners with signs, why aren’t then protesting the man serving communion who is married to the woman he left his wife for 3 years ago. If being gay is a sin, and you have to take a stand, because they aren’t sorry! They keep doing it! Well…the man who is married to his mistress is comitting adultery the entire time he is married to her. Where is the outrage? Why isn’t he being saved? Having been cheated on, I think that was far more painful, and more damaging to our marriage than 2 men getting married ever could be.

Why the hatred? Why protest gay marriage rather than support straight marriage? Why is it easier to be hateful than loving?

I recently saw this posted

Really? Seriously? This is God’s love?

If we are going to pull random laws out of the Bible, I’m glad nobody is trying this one

I wasn’t a virgin for the first one, and I won’t be one for the second either, I’d really prefer not to be stoned, thank you very much.

I looked and looked but cannot find the picture I saw recently, it was a man holding a protest sign that said “Homosexuals are worth of death! Romans 1:24-32”

Would you like to see the whole text of the verse?

Romans 1:24-32

New International Version (NIV)

 24 Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. 25 They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.

26 Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. 27 In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error.

28 Furthermore, just as they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, so God gave them over to a depraved mind, so that they do what ought not to be done. 29 They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips, 30 slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their parents; 31 they have no understanding, no fidelity, no love, no mercy32 Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.

So, who would like to throw the first stone?

Comments on: "Let’s Jump Right In-Gay marriage" (2)

  1. Janette said:

    beautifully written, and I couldn’t agree with you more. And why is it easier to hate than to love? Because hate requires no committment to change your own actions. Loving is painful and requires time, patience and action on the person who is doing the loving. When you hate….you just expect the other person to change. It’s “easier” Although, it isn’t right. Christians who are haters….they need to take a closer look at how “complicated” Jesus’s life really was….He didn’t take easy roads, and we aren’t promised them either. Loving someone is hard, because love isn’t a feeling, it’s a choice. Hatred lets us stand comfortably up on our soapboxes expecting the crowd to listen….love requires us to be the listener in the crowd.

    • I’ve just been amazed at all the hatred I’ve seen recently. I’ve never seen hatred change anyone’s minds, or hearts…so…why? I guess I can understand indifference, and I definitely understand anger at someone you feel has done wrong, but the hatred I’ve seen so many people spewing lately is really sad. It just makes them seem so ugly. It’s bad enough I have been slowly shutting some people out of my life, quietly, because their attitude is dragging me down, and I don’t want to be that way. I guess that ties into my Lent post too, doesn’t it? lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

