Too many thoughts, too little time.

Really Pleased

Friday I had major dental work done.

I’ve always hated my teeth. They’ve never been great looking. They began crumbling almost monthly about 8 yrs ago. A little bit at a time. I haven’t chewed on the left side of my mouth in about 8 years, and about 2 months ago it became almost impossible to chew on the right side either. So, I was kinda mashing food on the top of my mouth with my tongue and swallowing.

It would be about $20,000 (and 6 root canals) to get my teeth just ok, and I’d still have to deal with fixing them all the time, because I had no enamel. For considerably less, they could remove most of them and replace them. I decided to go with that option. I am in a ton of pain, still, but it’s lessening. The partial on the bottom doesn’t fit quite right, but I knew that was a strong possibility, and have already made an appt for tomorrow to get it adjusted. Plus, these are only temporary, for the next 6 months or so. When the swelling is completely gone, and the wounds have healed, I’ll get new ones again.

I really struggled with this decision. I’m only 29, I can’t need fake teeth! What if I look ugly? What if my husband is embarrassed by me? What if I regret it? What if, what if, what if… But, doing nothing meant I couldn’t chew, I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t walk out in this cold weather without being in terrible pain. I was embarrassed to meet new people. So, I made my choice, and I’m thrilled and I’m not even at 100% yet. My face is still swollen, I can’t chew yet, and the bottom part doesn’t sit right, but, this will all be better soon.

Before:

IMG_3375

After:

IMG_3398

This isn’t how I’ll look in the end, like I said, my face is swollen, plus, I’m laying down in the photo, so I look kind funny. But, I am really, super happy about this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

